My name is Pop Pop

When my grandson Josh was two years old he named me “pop pop”.  We had decided to be papa and mama but Josh thought differently. Thus I received a name that has affected my identity significantly. I love being called pop pop. Being a grandparent has become one of my life assignments that means very much to me. It is truly a gift from God and surely a calling. I love my grand kids and I love being their Grandpa.

The relationship between grandparents and grandchildren is very special and important. I remember my own grandfather with great fondness and his effect on my life has greatly affected who I am in so many ways.  Thus I take the role I have in the lives of Josh and Abby very seriously. They mean so much to Sue and I. We are so blessed to be able to be there for both of them and to interact with them on a regular basis. They live close by so we get to be with them several times a week.

I believe the reality and power of the extended family is very much in the plan of God for all of us. I am a son, a father and a Grandfather. all those roles do much to define my life and the lives of my children and my grandchildren. Wherever we are in life, single or married, no other reality than our family has affected us more. So I say to my children and my grandchildren: You will never know how much I love you and esteem you. Thank you for being in my life!!!

Leave a comment